The Meadows Equestrian Centre

Shane Makes Big Impact At Final Leg Of Flexi Eventing

The weather gods had the final say for the completion leg of the Baileys Horse Feeds Flexi Eventing League. After a sunny start, the weather turned rather inclement before brightening up again later in the afternoon.

However, it certainly didn’t dampen the spirits of Shane McKeever and KHS Impact, who really caught the eye of Dublin-based FEI Judge, David Lee who awarded the combination a score of 79.8 to take the red ribbon. Shane started competing this fourteen year old bay gelding by Master Imp at the latter end of 2014 and has delivered some impressive results since, including a win at Tullylish in two consecutive years. They also clocked up some great results at the Flexi Eventing collecting ribbons in big classes on four occasions which has certainly set them up well for the season ahead. As well as winning the dressage phase, this partnership also delivered a double clear showjumping and a clear cross country round.

Susan Cummiskey got a very unexpected call up to the saddle after her daughter, Abby, leader of the League going into the final leg, sustained a broken collarbone after a very unfortunate accident last Sunday while cross country schooling. We wish Abby a speedy recovery and hope she’ll be ready for the start of the season.Undoubtedly, she would have been pleased that her mother gave a good account of herself, finishing in the runner up spot with CSC Apache Dove. Fortunately for Abby, she had built up a very commanding lead over the previous seven weeks and wasn’t overtaken so she will be crowned the 2019 Champion.

Another partnership going from strength to strength is Grace O’Shaughnessy and Cooper who finished third.

 FEI Judge, Vanda Stewart, who was allocated the Pre Novice Arena this week was most impressed by the performance of Lucca Stubington and Xanthe Green who, incidently, won the first leg of this series too. Xanthe Green is homebred by Sir Shutterfly and is a fourth generation of Juniper Green’s family. Joanne Jardenwho had a double victory two weeks ago with Quarryhill Calypso came in just over one point behind Lucca on a score of 71.3 and then completed the day with a win in the Lucy Adams’ judged Novice class. Kathryn McKibbin slotted into second place on her nine year old grey gelding, Murphy.

Unfortunately a series of mishaps ranging from lost shoes to broken down jeeps meant Louise Nicholson had no competition in the Intermediate class with Jake where she was awarded 56.9% by Lucy Adams.

The mid -morning rain appeared to take its toll on the showjumping phase where there was a higher than normal ratio of faults. However, that wasn’t the case in the cross country arena where the number of clear rounds was impressive.

As this series of the Flexi Eventing draws to a close, we must say a huge thank you to each and every person who supported the league which has been the most successful one to date. 750 combinations completed almost 800 dressage tests, 2000 rounds of showjumps and 500 cross country rounds which is phenomenal by any standard.

The success of the League is due in no small measure to the excellent facilities at The Meadows which resulted in competitors travelling from North and South to participate in what they described as a unique educational Programme for them and their horses at the start of the season.

Sincere thanks to the enormous team of helpers who braved all weathers week after week to ensure that all three disciplines ran smoothly and dovetailed for the convenience of all.

However, the biggest ‘thank you’ is reserved for Judy Maxwell of Baileys Horse Feeds who very generously sponsored the League and made herself available each week to offer advice and support to riders and officials.

The Presentation of prizes will take place at the Two Phase Event at Tyrella on 9th March


Full Results


Arena 1 – Intro – Judge: David Lee

1.      Shane McKeever, KHS Impact

2.      Susan Cummiskey, CSC Apache Dove

3.      Grace O’Shaughnessy, Cooper

4.      Gillian Smyth, First Choice Robbie

5.      Lucca Stubington, Xenophon’s Honour

6.      Nicky Nesbitt, Carrickview Saratoga


Arena 2 – Pre Novice- Judge: Vanda Stewart

1.      Lucca Stubington, Xanthe Green

2.      Joanne Jarden, Quarryhill Calypso

3.      Christina Turley, Bob

4=  Tola Thompson, Crackerjack & Holly Wray, Romeo’s Dream

7.      Rachel Moore, Country Strong


Arena 3 – Novice- Judge: Lucy Adams

1.      Joanne Jarden, Quarryhill Calypso

2.      Kathryn McKibbin, Murphy

3.      Denis Currie, Arodstown Aramis

4.      Tori Dixon, Arnie

5.      Maeve Lunny, Okee Dokee

6= Louise Nicholson, Jake & Kerry Magill, Toffee


Arena 3 – Intermediate- Judge: Lucy Adams

1.      Louise Nicholson, Jake


Showjumping (double clears)


Matthew Wilcox, Drumcaughey Lucky, Katie Clarke, Mulvin Blue Moon, Carly Douglas, Archie, Sophie Nesbitt, Sky


Edward Little, Brian, Katie Clarke, Mulvin Blue Moon, Diane Scott, Rosie, Cathryn Hutchinson, Missy, Charlene Little, Sapphie, Rachel Redmond, Foxy, Katie Watson, Lissyegan Bay News, Ruth Lyttle, Classic Centrefold


Victoria Clarke, Jack, Shane McKeever, KHS Impact, Heather Smith, Kai, Lucy Toombs, Suzie, David Taylor, Penny, David Taylor, Ernie


Margaret Creighton, Dolly, Meabh McIlduff, Dalsown done & Dusted, Emma Forbes, Izzy, Darren Irwin, Nelly, Rachel Moore, Blossom, Edward Little, Bella, Sheena Kerr-McNally, Pegasus, Edward Little, Bosco, Eimear O’Neill, Gypsy, Brooklyn Edwards, Katie, Charlotte Robinson, Black Phantom, Alex Turley, Rosie, Lara Kelly, Drumcaughey Diamond


Darren Irwin, Adam, Rose de Montmorency, Ozzy, Katie O’Reilly, Dreamer, Kerry Magill, Toffee, Darren Irwin, Thunder, Joe Harris, Concorde, Emily Corbett, Valley, Edward Little, Sandie, Denis Currie, Arodstown Aramis


Victoria Clarke, Red C, David Taylor, Cruising For Pleasure


Cross Country (clear round)


Carly Douglas, Mars, Holly Wray, Milo, Edward O’Neill, Gypsy, Catherine McQuade, Rosie, Neil Morrison, Miss Marple, Katie Clarke, Mulvin Blue Moon, Carly Douglas, Armpit, Rachel Moore, Katie, Carly Douglas, Grace, Nicola Martin, Butter


Margaret Creighton, Dolly, Nicky Nesbitt, Carrickview Saratoga, Tracy McKeown, Chocolate, Susan M’Cummiskey, CSC Apache Dove, Aislin Captain, CSC Apache Feather, Tara Emmett, Diamond Girl, Wendy Kirk, Bear, Barbara Johns, John Rambo, Carly Douglas, Grace, Shane McKeever, KHS Impact, Rachel Craig, Harry


Meabh McIlduff, Dalsown Done & Dusted, Nicky Nesbitt, Ringfort India, Nichola Wray, Lady Grey V1, Sheena Kerr-McNally, Pegasus, Vicki Henry Potter, Lily, Rose de Montmorency, Archie, Olivia Johns, Lagan’s Peter, Holly Wray, Springhill Summer, Joanne Jarden, Quarryhill Calypso, Neil Morrison, Queenie, Emily Corbett, Zambabwi



Final League Placings









Abby Cummiskey

CSC Apache Dove



Denis Currie

Arodstown Aramis



Joanne Jarden

Quarryhill Calypso



Nicky Nesbitt

Carrickview Saratoga



Katie Clarke

Mulvin Blue Moon



Shane McKeever

KHS Impact



Nicola Martin




Meabh McIlduff

Dalsown Done & Dusted



Robbie Collins

Dunrath Navigator



Grace O’Shaughnessy




Olivia Johns

Lagan’s Peter



Jenny Nixon




Nichola Wray

Lady Grey VI



Sheena Kerr McNally




Aislin Captain

CSC Apache Feather







Tuesday 5th March 2019

More News...